What door are you trying to unlock?

I remember when I was in my early teenage years (more like tween), my mother moved us back up to Northern California for a spell. We had been living in Southern California all my life up until then. After she divorced my step father she decided to move on a whim. I was ok with this decision because I had a plethora of cousins my age there. I had none in SoCal with me at that time.

I remember going into the store with one of my cousins, she had exposed me to her achievements as a “professional shoplifter” at the mere age of 13. She would go into the store and leave with whatever it was she wanted! I must admit although I knew stealing was wrong, I was quite a bit intrigued by her ability to have all the latest items no matter how expensive they were. She would always encourage me to steal; I proudly refused. I knew stealing was absolutely wrong and I would “never” do it I said! One day while in a grocery store picking up things for my grandfather she encouraged me to take some earrings. For some reason that day I felt different.
I wanted to get in on the action. I placed the earrings in my pocket. I thought I was big and bad:-) only until we tried to walk out of the store and the security guard grabbed me and took me to the back office! She of course, got away scott clean!

        I remember sitting there feeling like such a fool! I was disappointed in myself, my mother was disappointed and I knew my God was disappointed. I however was angry at God! My justification: “I have been good all this time and here I go and try to do one wrong thing and you allow me to get caught! How could you!!” I felt like God had let me down! How could He turn His back on me when I did one thing wrong?! I was so hurt and confused.
It wasn’t until a couple of years ago God showed me why my anger for Him was so misguided. He said to me as clear as day:

Have you ever tried to use the wrong key to open a door? One of two things happen:
A) The key won’t fit into the lock. 
B) The key will go right in but won’t turn.
Think of yourself as a key if you will; designed for a purpose.( After all each key is designed with a purpose and that purpose is to open a specific lock. ) Keys are crafted specifically to fit the lock they are meant to open. That means if there is no lock, then there is no need for the key. He showed me how He as the locksmith handcrafted me (His key). There was a lock out there designed for me to open but it certainly wasn’t found in the world. It took me a while to realize that I kept trying to insert myself into the wrong lock. In doing so, I never fit in. There were however times I could fit into the lock but never could turn it. Those were times when I would try to fit in the world! I was doing all the right stuff to fit in, but never accomplished any purpose.

    Then He said:  Have you ever tried to force a key to fit in the wrong lock? It may go in, but not only will it not open the lock but often times it gets stuck! Then only the locksmith can get it out! That is what happens when we as Christians try to run from God and force our way into the world. We get end up stuck in a rut that only God can get us out of.
The funny thing is, all the locks I was trying to open were to raggedy run down buildings. But the locksmith pulled me out and showed me the lock that was designed for me. And guess what? It was a beautifully made mansion! That’s why I couldn’t get away with stealing a pair of earrings; I was trying to open the wrong lock!
Romans 12:2
And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.
*Are you stuck trying to open a lock that is not designed for you? Do you find yourself not fitting in with all your friends? Not able to get away with what they can?  Guess what? You will never fit in. You may die trying but you will never fit in. Call the locksmith let Him get you out!

Lord Jesus I need you. I cannot do it on my own. I recognize that I’m headed down the wrong path; trying to open the wrong locks! Lord I ask that you forgive me of my sins; I believe you are the only way. Please come into my heart! Thank you Lord for dying for my sins.

In Jesus’ name ~Amen

Leave a Reply

