“Excuse me ma’am, do you mind if I help you carry those burdens?”

As women and/or mothers we are constantly carrying burdens. We carry the burdens of our children, husbands, and friends! Sometimes we can be so bogged down and not even realize it. Imagine being a bellhop trying to carry everyone’s luggage at the hotel. One suitcase on top of the other……that’s me!!!! I feel like I should have made a commercial: Are you tired, do you need help? I’ll help you!!! I’ll carry your burdens for you..no problem is too big or small!
God had to really deal with me on this issue. I wanted to help save everyone! Someone couldn’t find a job….I made it my mission to check out all the newspaper classifieds listings to find them a job. Another friend couldn’t find a home to rent…yep you guessed it I was there on the phone making phone calls and looking for their perfect home. Money problems?? Here take mine!!! Car trouble?? We got that covered!
I constantly bombarded my husband with requests to send money, spend time or travel here and there to help someone. Pack up the kids and lets go! We HAVE to help! When he would nicely say that we didn’t need to always be there for everyone I would secretly think that he was selfish and he most certainly is not. That was so unfair of me to think!
I found out recently with one of my closest family members that despite all my efforts at being “to the rescue” that person hadn’t really noticed at all. That person felt as though they were all alone through their struggles! Man did this hurt my super sensitive feelings!
So I decided to hang up my cape and sulk. Well….in my sulking my own savior came in and simply said ” cast your burdens on me…because I am the only one who can carry them. You need to rest!” Wow!! It hit me!!! I am not equipped to carry other’s burdens….I am not even equipped to carry my own! (I guess I skipped over that verse in the Bible:-)
I can pray for my loved ones and send Jesus instead..after all no matter what I do is never enough. He is the only one who can fill their void…I remember hearing that saying “if you can’t go…send Jesus” I think they should change that to: ” Send Jesus first…if He tells you to come then join Him”

Matt 11:28 Come unto me all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

I Peter 5:7 Cast all your cares on him because he cares for you

Leave a Reply

