BE STILL

Image

These past couple of weeks God has been dealing with me on these two simple words “BE STILL” I know we have all heard them many times but He is really showing me what they actually mean. Last week I was blessed to attend a wonderful women’s conference of one of the first things the speaker spoke about was how we as ladies need to learn to keep our seats, because our God in heaven sits on the throne. Amen

While studying 2 Peter for Bible study, these verses stuck out like a sore thumb 2 Peter 4-9

4 For if God did not spare angels when they sinned,   but sent them to hell, putting them in chains of darknessto be held for judgment; 5 if he did not spare the ancient world when he brought the flood on its ungodly people,   but protected Noah, a preacher of righteousness, and seven others; 6 if he condemned the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah by burning them to ashes,   and made them an example   of what is going to happen to the ungodly; 7 and if he rescued Lot,   a righteous man, who was distressed by the depraved conduct of the lawless 8 (for that righteous man,   living among them day after day, was tormented in his righteous soul by the lawless deeds he saw and heard)— 9 if this is so, then the Lord knows how to rescue the godly from trials   and to hold the unrighteous for punishment on the day of judgment.

The same God who condemned the wrongdoers but protected Noah and Lot is still at the helm. If I believe in this God, then that means that I believe He knows how to rescue Godly men from trials and hold the unrighteous for the day of judgement. WOW! My God knows how to rescue Godly men from trials! Let me type that again. My God knows how to rescue Godly men from trials!

I am reminded of a story I heard on the radio a few years back. There was a man on a train traveling and the train was full of passengers. The train began to wobble and appeared as if it was going to derail; this sent the passengers into an uproar. While scrambling to keep his composure the man took notice of a little boy about 9 years old who sat still in his seat playing with his toys and did not appear rattled. The man was so intrigued by this little boy’s behavior that he managed to walk to him and asked him “Aren’t you afraid? Can’t you see what is going on around you?” The boy answered ” Yes I can see what is going on and No I am not afraid” Stunned the man asked, ” Well why, why aren’t you afraid?” Calmly the boy answered, “My father is the conductor!”

Too often I am encouraging others to stay calm; but the truth of the matter is in the inside I have been going nuts. I have been guilty of not practicing what I have been preaching. The same faith this boy had in his father the conductor/engineer of that train, is the same faith I should have in my father the engineer/conductor of the Heavens and Earth. I can rest and stop going stir crazy in the inside. I can be still and allow God to handle His train:)

Lord we thank you heavenly father for not being a God who is easily stirred. We know that you are at the helm Lord and no matter what all things are working together for our good. Lord we ask that your Holy Spirit teach and guide us to continue to BE STILL and allow you to control this beautiful Earth that you have created. We will not be consumed by anxiousness Lord…we will leave all heartache and worry at your feet. Thank you father for all you have done, and all you will do. In your son Jesus’ name…Amen

Psalm 62:1-2 My soul finds rest in God alone my salvation comes from Him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

One thought on “BE STILL

  1. Dinah says:

    Very powerful and I needed to read and know this today. Too often I try to navigate my own course and cannot understand why things are not working in my favor. It was good to read this before my day started and remember that I am NOT in control, that GOD has the helm and KNOWS what HE is doing. We say it all the time but forget to live it. Let go and let GOD. All praises be!

Leave a Reply

