30 Days of Thanksgiving Day 27

Day 27 November 27th

Today I am thankful for my Nana!

Only three days left on the 30 days of thanksgiving! I’m thankful that I was able to take the time to reflect on God’s grace in my life. Today I give total thanks for my great-grandmother Lydia Peterson.

My Nana was actually my Great-Aunt but because her sister died she stepped in and raised her niece and nephew. Her nephew being my maternal grandfather and that’s how the story goes! My Nana was a jewel of a woman, who had a heart of gold. I never heard her say a course word about a person. I watched her stay humble even when others deliberately hurt her.

The most important thing my Nana instilled in me was my love for Christ. Her heart would get so happy when she saw her granddaughters up singing in the choir stands on Sundays. She was so full of joy!
She loved kids!!! I mean loved them so much! She impacted children all around her even though she only gave birth to one biological child, she was a mother to many.

She was the matriarch of our family. God called her home at 94 years old, 6 years ago today. I am thankful for the 26 years I got with her; I wonder what her reaction would be to the extra 3 1/2 children I’ve acquired since her death:-)

For the many things she taught me, for the example she was to me, for her instilling the love of God in me, for her prayers that covered my life, for her sweet voice, and her beautiful spirit……I thank you Lord! Without your giving her to me I know I wouldn’t be where I am today. I am forever thankful for the jewel you allowed me to know. Thank you Jesus!

20121128-004756.jpg

Leave a Reply

