‘Tis the season!

The past few years (not purposefully) my children received too many gifts on Christmas and their birthdays. It’s mainly because people don’t usually purchase gifts for our children; therefore we try to get everything ourselves. For some odd reason these past few years a different friend or family member would pop up out of nowhere and purchase gifts for them!
That made my heart happy because I do feel that my children have been “ignored” in the past by different family members. I understand there are plenty of them! I just feel that their birthdays are only once a year and they should be acknowledged.

Like mentioned during these past three years my babies have had a little more than bargained for on the holidays. I don’t want them to be submerged in gifts. I understand that is not what the holidays are about. So I have been conveniently sneaking some of the gifts to my closet. The ones I know they will love, I wait for report cards to come home, or another opportunity for them to earn the gift. The others we try to donate to “Toys for Tots” or gift to their friends on their birthdays etc. (Yes I’m a regifter!)

This Christmas I was thinking I wouldn’t buy them many gifts just in case a family member decided to buy for them again. However, I get so paranoid if I imagine my babies disappointed on Christmas Day. We usually purchase one big gift and three small ones per child. I think I would feel bad if they didn’t have that. Do you as a parent struggle with the fine line of Christmas purchasing? I don’t think the amount we give our children is too much, but some others may. What are your purchasing limits? Do you ever feel a child can receive too much for Christmas?

20121204-185346.jpg

3 thoughts on “‘Tis the season!

  1. emjayandthem says:

    Thank you for the follow πŸ™‚ Your family is just beautiful!

    As my boys got older we started migrating from gifts that were “things” to “stuff we could do” together — i.e. gift certificates to the movies, roller skating, home-made certificates to “A Saturday with Dad, including lunch,” a “Tuesday night with Mom, including their favorite supper.” Etc.
    They all want things and they should have some of that .. but I have found children spell love T-I-M-E.

    Now I get to do this with my grandchildren and nothing made my heart smile more than watching a Minnie Mouse Christmas show with my 3 yr old grand-daughter tonight πŸ™‚

    Bests to you!

    Love your blog name, btw.
    MJ

  2. What a beautiful picture of your children! And yes, I’m always struggling with the “right” amount for my kids. I don’t want them to be overindulged and yet and I don’t want them to think Christmas was a beg letdown after all their anticipating! I like your idea of tucking some away for another important day.

    • Thanks so much for commenting! It’s so tough because we’re constantly trying to make sure we teach our children the right lessons. I think as long as our hearts are in the right place then we will be fine!

Leave a Reply

