December 7th We Remember

Today is a memorable one for the United States as well as Navy sailors. It is also a memorable one for my naval career; on this date 14 years ago I joined the US Navy. Today, I honorably separate.

My separation is”sweetbitter” I say that because it’s more sweet than bitter but there is a little bitterness. I am happy to be closing this chapter of my life. Very happy! I’m happy to know I will never again get called in for duty and leave my family, I will never again deploy for 6-8 months and leave my family, I will never again spend every 4-6 nights on a ship away from my family!

That is the sweetest part! The bitter part is knowing I was over the hump. Knowing this is all I’ve ever know since the ripe age of 19 years old. All my children know is that mommy is in the Navy; now that will change.

I’m thankful for the blessings,the great people I’ve met, the children I had, the love of my life…..all while serving in the US Navy. I have no regrets, I’ve stood the watch for as long as I could without sacrificing my family. That is something I’m proud of. Thank you to all who have served and are continuing to serve. God Bless America.

20121207-235742.jpg

Me after my first deployment on the USS Nimitz CVN-68, and my oldest two babies!

One thought on “December 7th We Remember

  1. Congratulations and thank you for your dedicated service…
    Wishing you a wonderful new beginning…

Leave a Reply

