Holiday Ramblings

I’ve taken a long break from writing; it wasn’t intentional. It was mostly due to the fact that my mind has been clustered with so many things. I was overwhelmed by the Sandy Hook shooting, pulled three different ways during the Christmas shopping season, and my Aunt is in the hospital and I’ve been so worried about her. I am not a typical blogger, I only write when God clears my mind to write. I guess I have to do better:-)

My father was murdered when I was five, he grew up in a rough city and not much has changed there. He has four siblings and I have so-so relationships with them. I always longed for a deeper connection with that side of the family though. Well, his oldest sister and I became really close over these past two years. I realized I have so much in common with her! She recently had two strokes this month. I am worried about her and I really want to go see her.

Seeming how I am 8 1/2 months pregnant, I can’t travel anytime soon. She’s in California, I am in Texas. (Sigh) I am praying God opens up a way for me to see her soon.

This holiday season I took a break from reaching out to each and every member of my family; I can’t do it any longer. I am always the one to try and remember all birthdays, anniversaries, etc. even though I have five children of my own! I would carry that burden of trying to make sure I got something for everyone else’s child, and usually they wouldn’t get anything for mine. Of course it’s not about the gifts, but just the intention is enough.
This year God helped me to release myself from that hold. I am no longer trying to be everything to everybody; I am going to focus on the children He blessed me to raise. We selected a family in need to be a blessing to this year, we blessed them and that’s all I am going to do. I’m so thankful God helped me in that area, because I truly was not at peace.

20121224-014621.jpg

2 thoughts on “Holiday Ramblings

  1. Maya says:

    Love what you wrote, “This year God helped me to release myself from that hold. I am no longer trying to be everything to everybody; I am going to focus on the children He blessed me to raise.” What a great eye-opener. sometimes I struggle with trying fill other people’s needs, when I just need to let God be the one to fill their needs, AND focus on the little ones’ he’s given me. Good post!

Leave a Reply

