UNmasking my current struggle!

I have recently been diagnosed with Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis! Yeah that was my reaction too! What the heck is that lol! Basically my body is producing antibodies that are killing off my thyroid gland! My body is at war with itself! 😣
I don’t know of anyone in my family with this disease, although they say it’s hereditary.
There are many symptoms…I’m still learning about it. Stay tuned for more posts as I learn. Here’s how I knew something was wrong:

•My throat was burning and I felt as though something was stuck in there. It was very painful to swallow.

• My hair started falling out in clumps! I am almost bald around my hairline (the area where my hair is thinnest).

• I am MORE fatigue and MORE irritated than usual! Ha! Imagine that!😃

So there it is, a visual on what I’ve been struggling with. Hashimoto’s is not life threatening but it really does something to a lady’s self esteem when your hair is falling out in clumps. Also I have 6 kids…I don’t need anymore fatigue! I thank God for all He’s done…stay tuned😉

20130604-163849.jpg
Here’s where I am completely bald on both sides of my hairline. Yes there was thick, healthy hair there before. I’m afraid I’ll be looking like Lebron James pretty soon!

17 thoughts on “UNmasking my current struggle!

  1. clknight225 says:

    Father God, in the precious name of Jesus,I humbly come before your throne and ask for your supernatural healing for my faithful friend. We thank you for the victory. We thank you for your grace and mercy. In the sweet name of Jesus, AMEN!

  2. hiddinsight says:

    Ahhhhh…! That’s craziness. While I’m sure there is a sense of relief with having a diagnosis, I hope you are able to get meds working fir you soon. Having hypothyroidism is hard enough…I can’t imagine it one step worse. Is there meds that can help?

    • Hey friend! I’m still learning. The endocrinologist told me there’s really nothing they can do until my thyroid dies completely. Then it will be hypothyroidism and I’ll get Synthroid. Im searching for a homeopathic doctor so we will see 🙂

      • hiddinsight says:

        But why wait for Synthroid then? Maybe because they aren’t sure what dose to give you. How long do they expect thyroid death to take? Does it hurt? Definitely the pride…

      • hiddinsight says:

        Just did some reading on Wikipedia, and it suggested that going gluten-free can help: “gluten-free diet may reduce the autoimmune response responsible for thyroid degeneration”…

        Don’t you feel so special now?

      • Agh! Is that like healthy eating? I don’t even know what gluten is! I was just talking to a girl who was one of my youth at church, she told me she has to be gluten free and I was mind boggled. I haven’t the slightest clue how to start alleviating gluten from my diet. And most importantly do Red Vines have gluten? If so we have a huge problem lol thanks for researching for me! I was in training and couldn’t be on my phone:-)

      • hiddinsight says:

        If you google it, you will find all sorts of info on it…it’s sticky stuff usually made from wheat, but I think there are other types of gluten. Sigh. It’s probably not that…

      • I’m not sure why to wait, she just said there’s nothing they can do until its completely slowed down. I imagine because it’s not regulated? It just has spurts of life sometimes that cause it to produce too much thyroid juice 🙂

      • Oh yeah it hurts a bit when my thyroid was inflamed. There was a burning sensation and it was pretty painful..like a tonsillitis or something.

      • hiddinsight says:

        Awww…I am imagining what that would be like 😥

      • hiddinsight says:

        Hope all goes smoothly with that 🙂

  3. I am so sorry to hear this! I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers!

  4. isaiahforty3 says:

    The Lord just brought me to your blog from “Girls Like You”…and I saw this post, and wanted to encourage you. I have had Hashimoto’s for 18 years (I’m 41). There is a ton of mis-information out there, but I learned SO much from about dot com’s thyroid site. There is an entire forum for Hashi’s, and it offered me great help & wisdom. You may also want to see an Endocrinologist rather than a regular Dr (not sure if you already are), but my case has been a bit “tricky” and that has helped. I di go gluten free, only in the last year because I had a bad “flare”. Biggest thing I’d say is no soy! That will still throw my numbers way off. Praying for you–and really, it’s not scary once you get the right meds.

Leave a Reply

